top of page
Mum.jpg

Peta Greaney

My background

Prior to moving into private practice, I worked extensively as a Psychologist in both the primary and secondary school setting and in early intervention health settings. This experience has provided me with a rich understanding of children's and teenager's experiences at school, academically, socially and emotionally. Working from a systems perspective, I believe this understanding of the school setting in addition to working with young people and their families, has provided me with an in depth appreciation of many of the potential challenges young people experience.

In addition to school age children, I am interested in helping adults navigate the challenges that come their way, whilst better understanding their strengths and developing some new skills as well! Though I draw on a number of therapeutic techniques, I offer a practical, functional and 'real life' approach to working with my clients.  

 

I have a particular interest in working with

Anxiety and Depression

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

Social skills at home and at school

Emotional regulation across the lifespan

Growth Mindset and Resilience skill development

Challenges during life transitions, like becoming a new parent

Perinatal and Postnatal Anxiety and Depression

Growth Mindset and Resilience skill development

Assessment - Cognitive, learning and Developmental Disorders

Why do you like working with young people and their parents?

I am passionate about families and enjoy working with parents to more successfully help their children navigate their world through: understanding their children’s strengths and challenges (academically, socially and emotionally); understanding their parenting strengths and challenges; and understanding their family dynamics. In addition to helping the young person, I hope that by working as a whole system, parents can gain practical and functional skills, whilst keeping the 'relationship' with their child/ teenager in mind. 

What do you like to do in your free time?

I am a Mother of three children (including twins), so I know all too well the challenges and joy that being part of a family brings. My compassion for families, sibling relationships and parenting has definitely grown through my own life experiences.  My family and I  love to travel and experience adventure in the outdoors.  When I manage to find some ‘alone time’ I love going hiking, swimming or catching up with friends.

bottom of page